Organizational Structure

How we work

Infrastructure Canada reports to Parliament and Canadians through the Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities.

The Department is made up of eight branches:

The Communities and Infrastructure Programs Branch:

  • establishes and oversees the overall delivery of Infrastructure Canada's major infrastructure funding programs with an emphasis on climate resiliency and natural infrastructure, inclusivity, transit improvements, specific needs of rural communities, and a greener economy;
  • ensures the implementation of program requirements and specific projects funded under these programs and provides oversight and reporting to ensure a coordinated, results-based approach to infrastructure; and
  • works collaboratively with stakeholders to build partnerships, promote program opportunities and administer these ongoing infrastructure funding programs.

The Community Policy and Programs Branch:

The Investment, Partnerships and Innovation Branch:

  • provides expertise on alternative and innovative project finance, public-private partnerships and major project delivery;
  • provides oversight of high-profile infrastructure projects being delivered through public-private partnerships:
    • manages the Samuel De Champlain Bridge Corridor project in Montreal and integration of the Réseau express métropolitain light rail transit system;
    • supports the Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority in its delivery of the Gordie Howe International Bridge project between Windsor and Detroit, Michigan; and
    • supports Transport Canada in the delivery of the High Frequency Rail project between Québec City and Toronto, including leading the formulation of an innovative pre-development agreement;
  • provides oversight and support to the Department's portfolio Crown corporations –  the Canada Infrastructure Bank, the Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority and the Jacques-Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated;
  • provides federal oversight on matters relating to the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative and Waterfront Toronto; and
  • monitors domestic and international trends, research and practices in project finance, the roles of private and institutional investors, and capital markets and investment policies related to the delivery of public infrastructure.

The Policy and Results Branch:

  • contributes to federal policy development;
  • identifies and assesses broad infrastructure issues, priorities, needs for potential federal action;
  • builds and maintains foundations to provide evidence-based advice through financial and economic analysis, data collection and analytics, and research to measure and report on results in partnership with other federal departments, provincial and territorial governments and other public and private stakeholders; and
  • advances environmental objectives on climate change mitigation, adaptation and environmental quality in infrastructure policies and programs.

The Corporate Services Branch:

  • provides leadership, support, guidance, and services for the management of the Department's corporate functions, including finance and administration; procurement and accommodations; human resources; information management and information technology; data management and security, integrated planning and reporting;
  • leads INFC's transformation strategy; and
  • provides advice and expertise to help ensure that the Department is diverse and inclusive.

The Communications Branch:

  • provides strategic advice and support to the Minister, the Deputy Minister's Office, the Department's senior leadership, and other federal departments to inform Canadians about Infrastructure Canada's priorities, initiatives, and activities; and
  • creates engaging content to inform Canadians about the impact of infrastructure investments in their communities through traditional and digital communications.

The Corporate Secretariat:

  • provides quality, strategic and specialized advice and coordination services in the following areas: governance; access to information and privacy; ministerial coordination and trips; ministerial correspondence and parliamentary affairs.

The Audit and Evaluation Branch:

  • provides independent assurance that policies and programs are sustainable and managed in a way that demonstrates sound stewardship, focusing on risk management, internal controls, and governance; and
  • provides neutral assessments of policy and program relevance and performance, flags issues that could be improved and recommends improvements or alternatives to existing policies and programs.