Building Canada's public transit future:
Healthy and sustainable modes of transportation for all

Public Transit Funding banner

Public engagement on permanent public transit funding in Canada

Thank you for your input. The engagement period closed on October 14, 2022. A summary report of what we heard during the engagement period will be available in fall/winter 2022.

On this page:

Overview

The Government of Canada is investing $14.9 billion over the next eight years in reliable, fast, affordable, and clean public transit. This funding includes $3 billion per year in permanent, predictable federal public transit funding which will be available to support transit solutions beginning in 2026/27.

From buses and subways, to ride-sharing apps and electric scooters, to maintained bicycle and walking trails, public transit and active transportation infrastructure helps Canadians get to where they need to go and stay connected to family and friends.

Our continued investments in Canada's public transit systems will help provide an essential service to many Canadians, generate billions in economic benefits, and help Canada meet its climate targets since the transportation sector accounts for approximately 25 percent of Canada's greenhouse gas emissions.

Public Transit Funding

Stable funding for public transit provides municipalities, transit authorities and other groups with the resources they need to plan over the long term and implement key public transit projects. Federal investments in public transit include the following application-based funds:

Rural Transit Solutions Fund

$250 million

This Fund supports locally-driven transit solutions for rural and remote communities, with flexibility for different local transit system innovations from fixed route to on-demand services to ride-shares.

Zero Emission Transit Fund

$2.75 billion

This Fund supports public transit and school bus operators plan for electrification, supports the purchase of 5,000 zero emission buses and build supporting infrastructure.

Active Transportation Fund

$400 million

This Fund invests in projects that build new and expanded networks of pathways, bike lanes, trails and pedestrian bridges, in addition to supporting active transportation planning activities.

Funding is also available to accelerate future major projects and supporting the expansion of large urban transit systems that many Canadians depend on every day.

These investments will accelerate projects across the country, create jobs, support active transportation, provide rural mobility solutions, and electrify our transit systems.

They also build on the largest Government of Canada investment in public transit in history which, since 2015, has provided more than $20 billion in federal funding to support public transit projects in communities across Canada.

Each public transit funding also complements Canada's strengthened climate plan: A Healthy Environment and a Healthy Economy. The plan commits the federal government to provide permanent federal funding for public transit in support of making clean and affordable transportation available in communities across Canada.

Additional Resources

For additional background information regarding Government of Canada investments in public transit infrastructure, please consult:

Bâtir l'avenir du transport en commun au Canada :
Des modes de transport en commun sains et durables pour tous

Bannière Financement permanent du transport en commun

Consultation publique sur le financement permanent du transport en commun au Canada

Merci pour vos contributions. La période de consultation s'est terminée le 14 octobre 2022. Un résumé de ce que nous avons entendu pendant la période de consultation sera disponible à l'automne/hiver 2022.

Sur cette page :

Aperçu

Le gouvernement du Canada investit 14,9 milliards de dollars au cours des huit prochaines années dans un transport en commun fiable, rapide, abordable et propre. Ce financement comprend 3 milliards de dollars par année en financement fédéral permanent et prévisible pour le transport en commun, qui sera offert pour soutenir les solutions de transport en commun à partir de 2026-2027.

Qu'il s'agisse des autobus et des métros, des applications de covoiturage et des trottinettes électriques, ou des sentiers pour vélos ou pédestres entretenus, les infrastructures de transport en commun et de transport actif aident les Canadiens à se déplacer et à rester en contact avec la famille et les amis.

Nos investissements continus dans les réseaux de transport en commun du Canada permettront d'offrir un service essentiel à de nombreux Canadiens, de générer des milliards de dollars en retombées économiques et d'aider le Canada à atteindre ses objectifs climatiques, puisque le secteur des transports est responsable d'environ 25 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du Canada.

Financement permanent du transport en commun

Un financement stable pour le transport en commun fournit aux municipalités, aux autorités de transport et aux autres groupes les ressources dont ils ont besoin pour planifier à long terme et mettre en œuvre des projets clés de transport en commun. Les investissements fédéraux dans le transport en commun comprennent les fonds suivants, basés sur les demandes :

Fonds pour les solutions
de transport en commun
en milieu rural

250 millions de dollars

Ce fonds soutient les solutions de transport en commun locales pour les collectivités rurales et éloignées, avec une certaine souplesse pour les différentes innovations des réseaux de transport en commun locaux, de l'itinéraire fixe aux services sur demande en passant par le covoiturage.

Fonds pour le transport en commun à zéro émission

2,75 milliards de dollars

Ce fonds aide les opérateurs de transport en commun et d'autobus scolaires à planifier l'électrification de leur réseau, à soutenir l'achat de 5 000 autobus à émission zéro et à construire les infrastructures de soutien.

Fonds pour les transports actifs

400 millions de dollars

Ce fonds prévoit des investissements dans des projets de construction et d'extension de réseaux de sentiers, de voies cyclables, de pistes et de ponts piétonniers, en plus de soutenir les activités de planification du transport actif.

Des fonds sont également offerts pour accélérer les futurs grands projets et soutenir l'expansion des grands réseaux de transport en commun urbains auxquels se fient chaque jour de nombreux Canadiens.

Ces investissements permettront d'accélérer les projets dans tout le pays, de créer des emplois, de soutenir le transport actif , de fournir des solutions de mobilité rurale et de favoriser l'électrification de nos réseaux de transport en commun.

Ils s'appuient également sur l'investissement le plus important du gouvernement du Canada dans le transport en commun de l'histoire, depuis 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a versé plus de 20 milliards de dollars en financement fédéral pour soutenir les projets de transport en commun dans les collectivités de l'ensemble du pays.

Chaque fonds de transport en commun complémente aussi le plan climatique renforcé du Canada : Un environnement sain et une économie saine. Le plan engage le gouvernement fédéral à fournir un financement fédéral permanent pour le transport en commun en appui à la mise à la disposition de toutes les collectivités d'un transport propre et rentable.

Ressources supplémentaires

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements contextuels au sujet des investissements du gouvernement du Canada dans les infrastructures de transport en commun, veuillez consulter ce qui suit :