The Federal Gas Tax Fund

Federal Gas Tax Fund

On June 1, 2020, the Government of Canada announced that the allocation of $2.2 billion under the federal Gas Tax Fund would be accelerated this year and provided in a single payment in June to help Canadian communities recover from the COVID-19 pandemic as quickly as possible while respecting public health guidelines.

Learn more about how the federal Gas Tax Fund is working in your province or territory:

The federal Gas Tax Fund (GTF) is a permanent source of funding provided up front, twice-a-year, to provinces and territories, who in turn flow this funding to their municipalities to support local infrastructure priorities. Municipalities can pool, bank and borrow against this funding, providing significant financial flexibility.

The federal Gas Tax Fund delivers over $2 billion every year to 3600 communities across the country. In recent years the funding has supported approximately 4000 projects each year. Communities select how best to direct the funds with the flexibility to make strategic investments across the following 18 different project categories:

  • public transit
  • wastewater infrastructure
  • drinking water
  • solid waste management
  • community energy systems
  • local roads and bridges
  • capacity building
  • highways
  • local and regional airports
  • short-line rail
  • short-sea shipping
  • disaster mitigation
  • broadband and connectivity
  • brownfield redevelopment
  • culture
  • tourism
  • sport
  • recreation

Under the agreement for the federal Gas Tax Fund, the provinces and territories are accountable for reporting to the federal government on the projects that were funded and the benefits that were achieved.

Learn more about GTF projects across Canada here:

Additional resources

Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral

Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral

Le 1er juin 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que le versement de l'allocation de 2,2 milliards de dollars au titre du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral sera accéléré cette année et qu'on fera un paiement unique en juin pour aider les collectivités du Canada à récupérer à la suite de la pandémie de la COVID-19 le plus rapidement possible, tout en respectant les directives en matière de santé publique.

Découvrez comment le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral est à l'œuvre dans votre province ou dans votre territoire :

Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral (FTE) constitue une source permanente de financement qui est versé directement, deux fois par année, aux provinces et aux territoires qui, à leur tour, versent les fonds à leurs municipalités pour soutenir les priorités en matière d'infrastructure locale. Les municipalités peuvent regrouper ces fonds, les mettre en banque ou s'en servir comme garantie d'emprunt, ce qui leur donne une grande marge de manœuvre financière.

Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral fournit plus de 2 milliards de dollars par année à 3600 collectivités de l'ensemble du pays. Au cours des dernières années, ce financement a permis d'appuyer environ 4000 projets par an. Les collectivités décident de la façon la plus efficace d'allouer leur financement et disposent de la souplesse nécessaire pour effectuer des investissements stratégiques dans l'une ou l'autre des 18 catégories de projets suivantes :

  • transport en commun
  • infrastructures liées aux eaux usées
  • eau potable
  • gestion des déchets solides
  • systèmes énergétiques communautaires
  • routes et ponts locaux
  • renforcement des capacités
  • routes
  • aéroports locaux et régionaux
  • transport ferroviaire sur courtes distances
  • transport maritime sur courtes distances
  • atténuation des catastrophes
  • large bande et connectivité
  • réaménagement des friches industrielles
  • culture
  • tourisme
  • sport
  • loisirs

Conformément à l'entente relative au Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence fédéral, les provinces et territoires qui reçoivent du financement ont la responsabilité de rendre compte au gouvernement fédéral des projets financés et des avantages obtenus.

Pour en savoir plus sur les projets du FTE au Canada :

Ressources supplémentaires